Not Voting.

Okay so although I have attempted to exempt myself from talking about national politics until after Nov. 8, I, like everyone else in the country, find it difficult to block out the discussion. Literally everywhere I look, I see Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. I constantly find myself in conversations with people who say things like, “It’s like voting for the lesser of two evils. I don’t even want to vote. I think I’m just going to stay home this year.” It’s very easy to get discouraged when you step back and you can’t wholeheartedly support either of the major political party’s candidates for President. However, this post is not about the Presidential election, and I want you to step back and see things from a different (or more local) perspective.

Please. Do. Not. Stay. Home.

I do not care who you support for POTUS 2016. I do however care whether or not you go to the polls on November 8th, 2016. Why? Because this isn’t just about the Presidency. This is about our state. Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump are not the only words that will be printed on your ballot. You have other decisions to make! Don’t let the chaotic, disheartening media coverage of the Presidency prevent you from voting for very important, local offices. Because let’s get real for a minute: decisions being made on 23rd and Lincoln impact you and I a lot more than who gets to fight with Congress for the next 4 years. (Don’t get me wrong, the Presidency is important, but this is not my focus because what I’m talking about gets left out / understated too often)

Here’s some questions people have asked me:

So how do I know what else will be on my ballot?
The Oklahoma Online Voter Tool has a feature that allows you not only to view your sample ballot, but also to find where you will vote, and all you have to do is click here.

What are the State Questions and how do I choose yes or no?
Here’s a great website to help you better understand the State Q’s. It provides the facts for the SQ, but also includes links to websites of proponents and opponents for each Question!
If you’d like to know my opinion, private message me!

What if I can’t make it on election day?
1. Deadline to request absentee ballot:
5 p.m. November 2 (request absentee ballots online)
2. Early voting:
Thursday, November 3, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Friday, November 4, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday, November 5, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

This election is important. Please use your voice in local matters. Please vote for people in local offices that have education’s best interests in mind (Not just the ones who say they have education’s best interests in mind) Yes, there’s a difference- ask me who they are if you want. In my District, District 56, David Perryman is by far the candidate who will make you and I a priority. And there are good people like him running for office across the state. Friend them on Facebook. Follow their Twitter account. Email them and ask them questions. But whatever you do, Vote. And #VoteEducation

One comment

Leave a Reply

